The Board



Since inception in 2007 Eseltjiesrus Donkey Sanctuary has been run by a Management Committee with the help of an Advisory Board since 2010.

The Advisory Board was made up of individuals who through their positions, experience, talents or qualifications were an important source of direction and support to the management of Eseltjiesrus to help build a secure and viable organisation. The members of the Advisory Board gave the Sanctuary fresh perspectives on a series of issues. The first Advisory Board meeting was held on Tuesday 28th September 2010.

In July 2012 the Advisory Board and the Management Committee were combined to form the new “Board of Eseltjiesrus Donkey Sanctuary” whose role is to:

  • set overall policy;
  • determine strategies and be part of the strategic planning;
  • determine the annual budget including salary levels and conditions of service of senior management staff positions;
  • take fiduciary responsibility for the organisation; and
  • receive reports from the Executive Committee in terms of the above roles.

The Board, elected by our members at the AGM in August 2018, currently consists of:

Non-executive Board Members:

Johan van Zijl (Founder and Chair of Eseltjiesrus Donkey Sanctuary Board)

Anthony Coombe (Governance and Financial consultant, Past Managing Partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers Cape Town office and Past President of Cape Chamber of Commerce and Industry)

Carole Hambleton-Moser (Past Chair of the Heart Charitable Investment Trust at Heart Capital and former Vice President & Head, Credit Suisse Representative Office, Cape Town)

Iris Bolton (Educator and currently Front of House Manager at The Fugard Theatre)

Jim McNamara (Chair of the Animal Welfare Society of South Africa and former Executive Director, Development and Alumni,
University of Cape Town)

Johan du Preez (Businessman residing in Robertson, passionate about conservation, animal welfare, a food lover and wine enthusiast)

Lorna Fuller (Director of Project 90 by 2030)

Louise Matschke (Education and Training Manager, Cape Town Environmental Education Trust)

Sarah Kvalsvig (Lawyer and consultant at Cullinan and Associates Inc.)

Ton Vosloo (Past Chair of Naspers)

Tozie Zokufa (Executive Director in South Africa of A Greener World and a member of the African Union's Africa Platform for Animal Welfare)

In addition the following members of the Executive Committee are members of the Board:

Annemarie van Zijl (Founder and Donkey Welfare, Outreach and Advocacy Manager at Eseltjiesrus Donkey Sanctuary)

Tony Saddington (Administrative and Financial Manager at Eseltjiesrus Donkey Sanctuary, Chair of the Executive Committee and
Secretary of the Board)



Support Eseltjiesrus

Every donation helps us to improve the facilities, expand our support and rehabilitation of donkeys elsewhere and work towards a more caring culture in our society.

About Us

Eseltjiesrus Donkey Sanctuary provides a permanent refuge for abused, neglected and elderly donkeys.

Tel - +27 (0) 23 625 1593

Fax - +27 (0) 86 614 7777

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Information you provide when registering will be shared with the account holder and host and can be used and shared by them in accordance with their Terms and Privacy Policy.

Eseltjiesrus Gallery